Heidekolb's Blog

The Fool and the Book | October 23, 2009

Within the imagery of the Tarot the Fool is the first card. It is he who initiates the journey. The head in the clouds,  he is dangerously close to the precipice, followed only by his canine companion. There is no way around it, I cannot escape feeling foolish when I enter new territory, when I start something new.  I am there now. There are two books on my mind. One of them is the book. It arrived yesterday in the mail. I don’t know what I was expecting, but  certainly not this. An eleven pound package?! This was clearly not the usual paperback that ends up on my doorstep. I must have had a neat, little red paperback in my mind. I know this is beyond foolish, it is idiotic. No, I have not made it to the Rubin Museum yet, yes, I regrettably missed all the introductory lectures. I just had this private little fantasy of Jung’s Red Book, which I was looking forward to holding in my hands. And here it is. Huge, red, heavy, (nine pounds, I put it on the scale) ominous, beautiful, weighty. Definitely not designed for small New York apartments. Both my apartment and I seem to shrink in its presence. (I am supposed to be the one who does the shrinking). The self-imposed task of working myself through the book has a dizzying effect. Once opened the book reveals  imagery that takes my breath away. And I only dare to get a glimpse of them, I cannot yet look too closely. I see Jung’s intricate longhand in German and Latin, the intensity of his focus revealed in the details of his paintings and drawings. I put the book on a the top shelf of a book case. The only spot where it will fit.

The other book on my mind is one I am not even sure it exists. I hope it does. I am in need of it and I will look for it online. Its title should be something like Blogging for Dummies. I need to learn the ropes. Categories? Tags? Links? I like the idea of writing and publishing my musings in cyberspace. It is like forming a thought and letting it drift back into the collective psyche. Maybe somewhere, somebody will come across it and pick up the thread. I will go now and search for this book. I just hope it is not another nine pounder. That would be more than I can handle. And then…let the journey begin.


4 Comments »

  1. Hello Heide Klob,

    I look forward to your insights into Jung’s Red Book. I suspect that a lot of the material will require deep psychic, archetypal, and mythical work.

    I was glad to see that you started with the Tarot symbol of the Fool. Head up in the clouds, walking into the unknown, the zero point. I’m not sure how Jung felt about the Tarot, though I do know he used Astrological symbolism.

    From what little I have seen of the Red Book, it would seem that a lot of deep symbolic & mythic imagery is used. Its possible that what he has created is a kind of modern day analog to the Tarot.

    I have often felt that as useful as the Tarot is, it is too limited in psycho-spiritual symbolism for the full journey of the soul. I’m hoping that Jung’s Red Book may provide a new step in that direction in this new Aion we are now entering.

    Comment by Charles Kress — October 25, 2009 @ 1:35 pm

    • Hello Charles Kress,

      thank you for your comment. I would like to assure you that I plan on avoiding jargon when writing and use language that can be understood by all interested in the subject matter. I strongly believe that if it can’t be said in plain, clear language, one better not say it at all. I sincerely hope that I will live up to my intention.

      I am not an expert, but I am quite familiar with the Tarot. I share your sense of its limitations. I have started reading the Red Book and I strongly feel that Jung is illuminating the soul’s trajectory in this new Aion. I will keep you posted (literally).

      Comment by heidekolb — October 25, 2009 @ 7:31 pm

      • Hi Heide Klob,

        Thanks for your Reply.

        I appreciate your intent to use clear, plain language. and look forward to your insights.

        Do you mind if I recommend this blog to others on twitter? I’ve noticed there is some interest there about Jung’s RB.

        Do you have any preference as to how you are addressed? Is Heide ok? I live in California where we tend to be more informal about names, but will use whatever you prefer. I’m fine with Charles or Yamabuki

        Charles

        Comment by Charles Kress — October 26, 2009 @ 12:26 am

      • Charles,

        I am all for informality, heide is perfectly fine. (but BTW my last name is kolb, not klob). Feel free to recommend the blog on Twitter. I want it to be read. (So you and yamabuki are the same person, nice to find that out)

        best,

        heide k

        Comment by heidekolb — October 26, 2009 @ 12:44 am


Leave a Reply

    Categories

